Kymenlaakso Regional Council

The Regional Council of Kymenlaakso is a federation of seven municipalities, promoting the interests of Kymenlaakso region. The Council is responsible for regional spatial planning and regional development. The Kymenlaakso region (the River Kymi Valley) is located in South-Eastern Finland surrounding the cities of Kouvola and Kotka.

The regional plan and the regional programme define the main goals of regional development. Regional spatial planning takes into account national land use guidelines and foster their application at a regional level. The regional plan acts as a guide for land use plans at municipality level. Promotion of national and regional interests is carried out in co-operation with state officials, municipalities and other participants. Regional Development is carried out mainly by EU and state-co-funded projects.

International co-operation focuses on the Baltic Sea region, especially on the areas of St Petersburg and Estonia. The main objectives are business development, logistics, transport, environment, and educational co-operation and secure efficient borders.

The Regional Council of Kymenlaakso is also a member of CPMR (Conference of Peripheral Maritime Region). The organisation´s aim is to promote the interests of its member partners in the EU level decision-making.

The Kymenlaakso Summer University is administered by the Regional Council of Kymenlaakso. The Summer University offers Adult and Open University Education. The Summer University operates throughout the year, promoting life-long learning and organising various seminars and lecture series.

> Read more via Kymenlaakso Regional Council’s website